Out There

Prediction – A Fool’s Errand

Posted in Uncategorized by Pete on December 9, 2023

Humans are bad at predicting things. But I have a bold prediction that I’m committing to internet immortality with this post. I predict BOTH of the major candidates for President will pass away from natural causes prior to the general election on Nov 5, 2024. Much is made about Joe Biden’s age and declining vigor, but Trump is no spring chicken either, and he’s significantly overweight. Both of them are under lots of stress. I don’t see this as actually that unrealistic. I wonder what odds an actuary (or the prediction markets) would give. I’m guessing like a 2% chance (50:1 odds) or something. And boy howdy, could we all use the political “reset” it would give. I’m not saying I’m rooting for them to die. But I am praying for a peaceful solution to the antipathy and polarization we seem to be stuck in. This season of arguing over what is real vs fake news, shouting over one another with dueling, simplistic narratives, and seeing our neighbors as “the enemy” — I think most of us are ready for it to be over. And most people don’t want Biden OR Trump. Have thine own way, Lord.

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a comment