Out There

How Many Clocks?

Posted in teaching by Pete on March 7, 2012

I was walking home just now from school and surprised 2 little boys who were struggling as they walked through the deep, soft snow and biting wind.  One of them said “You let me…scared!”  And then, “Visit?”  I told him no, maybe later, and kept walking and went up the stairs of our apartment.  As I reached the top of the stairs, he shouted back “How many clocks??”  I said “What??”  He repeated the question and I realized he meant “How long until we can visit?”  I told him “Maybe tomorrow” as it was nearly 6 o’clock and time to start making dinner.

I liked the interaction as an example of “village English” which we often enjoy.  You let me scared = You scared/startled me.  Visit? = can we come in to your house and play for a while?  This kind of dovetails into the post I wrote about “meaningful differences” and the interaction between culture and language development.

Leave a Reply

