Out There

African riches

Posted in Uncategorized by Pete on May 27, 2008

I’ve been getting spam about fabulous wealth in an African bank that is somehow mine and all I have to do to claim it is __________ for years.  But I get one or more every day lately, in my inbox, not my spam folder, which I don’t even check because it has thousands of messages in it.  What I can’t believe is that these apparently work!  People apparently fall for these type of things?  Here’s the latest example, which I haven’t even read except for the first few lines and I knew right away it was garbage:

FROM THE DESK OF MR DADA SMITH
UNION BANK OF NIGERIA PLC
LAGOS.

VERY CONFIDENTIAL.

I am Mr Dada Smith,the manager of Foreign Account Department of the UNION BANK oF NIGERIA PLC. I am writing you this letter to ask for your support and co-operation to carry out this transaction.

We discovered an abandoned Sum of US$20Million (Twenty Million U.S Dollars) in an account that belongs to one of our foreign customer who died along side his entire family in November 2002 in a plane crash in Lagos.Since this development,we have advertised for his next kin or any close relation to come forward to claim this money, but nobody came to apply for the claim.

To this effect,I and two other officials in my department have decided to look for a trusted foreign partner who can stand in as the next of kin to the
deceased and claim this money. We need a foreign partner to apply for the claim because of the fact that the customer was a foreigner. And we don’t want this money to go into the banks treasure as unclaimed fund.Every document to affect this process will emanate from table and I will perfect every document to be in accordance with the banking law and guidelines so you have nothing to worry about.All we require from you is to provide a bank account in your name or your company name where the money will be transfered to and deposited.

We have agreed that 30% of the money will be for you,10% for expenses incurred on the both side while 60% will be for my colleagues and I. If you are going to assist in this, indicate by replying this letter and putting in your contact address, private telephone and fax numbers.

I await your immediate reply to enable us start this transaction in earnest.Once I receive your reply, I will send you the modalities for immediate application of claim.

Thanks for your anticipated assistance.

Regards
Dada Smith
Manager:Foreign Account Department
UNION BANK OF NIGERIA PLC
INTERNATIONAL REMITANCE DEPT
Plot 17,Sakajojo Street,
Victoria Island,Lagos-Nigeria

Leave a Reply

